• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

York Höller is acclaimed for pioneering scores, many of which explore the fusion of live and electronic sounds * Winner of the 2010 Grawemeyer Award for the orchestral cycle Sphären * Music combines modernist techniques, references to Romanticism, and refined French-influenced orchestration * Invited by Boulez to compose at IRCAM and by Stockhausen to WDR in Cologne, where he became Director of the Electronic Studio * His Bulgakov opera The Master and Margarita (1989) was premiered at the Paris Opera * Interpreters include Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Modern, Arditti Quartet, London Sinfonietta, Berlin Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne and conductors Boulez, Barenboim, Zagrosek, Gielen, Eötvös, Bychkov and Zender

Works by York Höller include:
Fanal (1990) for trumpet and small orchestra
Aura (1991-92) for large orchestra
Gegenklänge (1997) for chamber ensemble
Sphären (2001–06) for large orchestra and live-electronics

Looking Ahead: 80th birthday in 2024

"Höller's Piano Concerto is scored with absolute mastery, and fashioned with notable finesse and delicacy ... it has shape, direction and clear design." — Financial Times

Also visit the York Höller website at www.yorkhoeller.de.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications