• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Programme Note
Repertoire Note

This masterly work was the first composition Britten completed after arriving in the USA in 1939. It combines virtuosic brilliance with elegiac lyricism, undoubtedly reflecting Britten’s growing concern with the escalation of world hostilities. After a period of relative neglect, the Violin Concerto has enjoyed a notable revival of interest in recent years, resulting in a number of new recordings.

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications