• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Composer's Notes
Runner, for a large ensemble of winds, percussion, pianos and strings was completed in 2016 and is about 16 minutes in duration. While the tempo remains more or less constant, there are five movements , played without pause, that are based on different note durations. First even sixteenths, then irregularly accented eighths, then a very slowed down version of the standard bell pattern from Ghana, fourth a return to the irregularly accented eighths and finally a return to the sixteenths but now played as pulses by the winds for as long as a breath will comfortably sustain them. The title was suggested by the rapid opening and my awareness that, like a runner, I would have to pace the piece to reach a successful conclusion.

-Steve Reich, 2016

Press Quotes

“Runner's most powerful innovation, though, is the way the composer keeps pulling melodic threads out of the instrumental texture and highlighting them as thematic material. This is the precise inverse of his more common technique of weaving dense pieces out of short gestural strands, and the effect is a potent about-face."
San Francisco Chronicle

“The final part is set to Runner, a calmly luminous orchestral piece with the pulsating, propulsive rhythms that animate much of Mr. Reich’s music.”
New York Times

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications