• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Ariadne Daskalakis (violin)
Miri Yampolsky (piano)

The lives of the three Eastern European composers on this disc spanned almost 150 years (1854–1994), a period of dramatic historical change, political turmoil and radical developments in Western music.

Janácek, Lutoslawski and Szymanowski each left significant and very personal musical legacies, rich with inspiring melodies, harmonies and rhythms.

Praised by The Strad for the “striking athleticism, musical insight, expressive embellishment and elegiac lyricism” of her playing, Boston-born violinist Ariadne Daskalakis is sensitively accompanied by the equally renowned Russian-born Israeli pianist Miri Yampolsky, her frequent recital partner.

“All aspects of [Ariadne Daskalakis’s] execution - pitch, tone, technique, pacing, interpretation - were flawless, as were chamber interaction and blend.”
New Music Connoisseur

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications