• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Janácek’s poetic cycle “On an overgrown path” is surely among his most popular piano works. Its evocative musical language will draw every hearer under its spell. Listeners will not be able to discern that the pieces had a very complex and protracted genesis, with some originally intended for harmonium. With exemplary clarity, the accompanying texts in Henle’s Urtext edition shed light on the complicated source situation. In addition, an appendix to the musical text contains those pieces that Janacek either did not include in the cycle, or that remained unfinished. The world’s foremost Janacek researcher, Jirí Zahrádka, is responsible for the edition, while the fingering is by the great pianist Lars Vogt.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications