• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Steve Reich has been called "the most original musical thinker of our time" (New Yorker) and "among the great composers of the century" (New York Times)
• Instantly recognizable musical language combines rigorous structures with propulsive rhythms and seductive instrumental color
• A favorite among choreographers, including Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker, Jiri Kylian and Jerome Robbins
• Exclusive recording contract with Nonesuch, with GRAMMY-winning recordings of Different Trains, Music for 18 Musicians
• His documentary video operas The Cave and Three Tales (in collaboration with video artist Beryl Korot) have expanded the boundaries of the operatic medium.

Works by Steve Reich include:
Music for Eighteen Musicians (1974–76) for voices and ensemble
City Life (1995) for ensemble
Triple Quartet (1998) for string quartet with pre-recorded tape, or string ensemble, or string orchestra
Double Sextet (2007) for ensemble

Looking Ahead:
Steve Reich celebrates his 85th birthday this season with the debut of his latest work Traveler’s Prayer for large ensemble and singers, which toured through Europe this fall and is set to debut in the US during the 2022-2023 concert season. In the spring, a new Wayne McGregor ballet “Eden/Eden”, featuring music from “Three Tales,” and a new Jirí Kylián ballet “Falling Angels,” featuring music from “Drumming,” both premiere in Europe. Multiple performances of Drumming (which celebrates its 50th anniversary this season) take place in Helsinki (Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra), Freiburg, and Oslo.

"There's just a handful of living composers who can legitimately claim to have altered the direction of musical history and Steve Reich is one of them." — The Guardian

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications