• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

Alexander Raskatov was born on 9 March 1953. He studied composition at the Moscow Conservatory in Albert Leman's class until 1978 and subsequently completed a four-year post-graduate course. In the early 1990s he moved to Germany, later to France, where he works as a freelance composer. In 1990 he was composer in residence at Stenton University, in 1998 in Lockenhaus. He has received numerous scholarships and prestigious commissions. Raskatov’s refined sound development and concentrated treatment of material reveal influences of Stravinsky and Webern. His numerous vocal works are based on texts of recent Russian poetry (e.g. Blok, Baratynski, Khlebnikov, Brodsky). He was also intensively involved with the Russian Futurists of the 1920s (including Mossolov, Roslavets) and completed some of their surviving fragments. Irina Schnittke entrusted him with the reconstruction of the 9th symphony of her husband, who died in 1998.

This biography can be reproduced free of charge in concert programs with the following credit: Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes/Sikorski.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications