• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The world premiere recording of Anna Clyne’s cello concerto DANCE, performed by cellist Inbal Segev, conductor Marin Alsop, and the London Philharmonic Orchestra, has been met with international critical acclaim.

Anna Clyne’s poetry-inspired cello concerto DANCE, released on a new album from Avie Records with cellist Inbal Segev, conductor Marin Alsop, and the London Philharmonic Orchestra, has been met with critical acclaim. The world premiere recording comes a year after Segev first premiered the piece at the 2019 Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music under the baton of Cristian Macelaru.

The 25-minute piece is divided into five movements, each inspired by a line from the short Rumi poem. Clyne’s depiction of the lines of poetry has been noted by reviewers. The Guardian wrote: "There are moments in the first movement, called 'when you’re broken open,' which recall John Tavener’s The Protecting Veil, as consoling, modal string chords underpin the soaring cello line ... The concerto as a whole is utterly personal, blending musical materials in a way that is entirely Clyne’s own."

> Learn more about Clyne’s inspiration for DANCE
> Listen to DANCE

More praise for Clyne’s DANCE:
I’m struggling to remember the last time a piece of contemporary music made me cry. ... in the final movement of Anna Clyne’s DANCE, a cello concerto in all but name, a bear-hug of a theme emerges through angry, percussive col legno snaps that is so beautiful, so heartfelt that it instantly drew tears on first hearing. Repeated listening had a similar effect.” —Gramophone

"Clyne’s own experience as a cellist no doubt contributes to her fluent idiomatic use of the instrument in the first movement, where the soloist spends much of the time in the glacial upper reaches of the register ... Clyne’s work deserves a permanent place in the cello canon, while Segev’s magisterial playing makes this a disc to listen to again and again." —Strings Magazine

“Anna Clyne’s DANCE is, without a doubt, one of the finest pieces I’ve heard this year.” —The Arts Fuse

The album has also been included in several roundup lists of best albums of July and August, as well as NPR Music’s mixed-genre “25 Favorite Songs Of 2020 (So Far)” list, in which reviewer Tom Huizenga wrote:
“British composer Anna Clyne has written perhaps her most ambitious and appealing work so far … Clyne's orchestrations are keenly attentive to color and light, and she's fearless in filling the concerto with melodies of undisguised beauty. Some are folkish, others are regal. All linger in the ear, begging to be heard again.”

>  Further information on Work: DANCE

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications