• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World premiere of version
Farnham Maltings, Farnham
Surrey County Youth Wind Orchestra
Composer's Notes

Two Lyric Pieces are based on piano music which I composed between the ages of nine and eleven. These melodies were the result of improvisation and though I did not notate them at the time, I played them so often they remained ineradicably in my memory. Of course when I came to write these themes for performance, I did impose upon their original extreme simplicity some slightly fuller and more sophisticated harmonies.

The first piece is scored for a small group of wind instruments, and the second for string orchestra. Both pieces demand that the young players should produce a truly singing quality from their instruments and give them an opportunity to express human warmth and tenderness.

Andrzej Panufnik

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications