• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Composer of orchestral scores possessing a driving, sometimes brutal energy, with later works featuring a new current of lyricism
• His scores have been performed by every major orchestra in the US and an increasing number in Europe and Asia
• Champions include conductors Alan Gilbert, David Robertson, Leonard Slatkin, Marin Alsop, and David Zinman
• Winner of the 1993 Pulitzer Prize in Music for his Trombone Concerto and a GRAMMY (Best Contemporary Composition, 2002) for his guitar concerto, Concert de Gaudí
• Among soloists, noted interpreters include Emanuel Ax, Evelyn Glennie, Sharon Isbin, Yo-Yo Ma, and Dawn Upshaw

Works by Christopher Rouse include:
Der Gerettete Alberich (1997) for solo percussion and orchestra
Flute Concerto (1993) for flute and orchestra
Phaethon (1986) for orchestra
Odna Zhizn (2009) for orchestra
Compline (1996) for flute, clarinet, harp, and string quartet

Looking Ahead: On April 13, Rouse’s Symphony No. 6—the composer’s final work—is performed by the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Marin Alsop.

“Rouse can make even a modestly sized orchestra roar, shriek and nearly explode.” —NPR

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications