• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The Boosey & Hawkes Bartók Edition showcases brand new stylish arrangements of highlights from the leading twentieth century composer for developing musicians to learn and enjoy.

Bartók for Guitar features over 40 solos and duets from Bartók’s most popular pedagogical repertoire including For Children, Mikrokosmos, Romanian Folk Dances and others, arranged for guitar by Michael McCartney.

An accompanying audio CD features demonstration tracks for all pieces and minus-1 tracks for duo arrangements.

Sample Page: Answering Voices / Imitation & Inversion
Audio Sample: Answering Voices
Audio Sample: Imitation & Inversion

About Michael McCartney
Originally from New York, Michael McCartney studied guitar with David Starobin at the State University of New York at purchase where he received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree. While in New York he also studied period performance on 19th century guitar with Patrick O'Brien and composition with Dennis Riley. Michael has performed throughout the New York area, in Europe and BBC and RTE radio.

A champion of neglected guitar music old and new, Michael has lectured on the guitar and its repertoire, contributed to articles and editions of historical guitar music, and is known for his work on the Hudleston Collection in Dublin. He is proud to play one of Gary Southwell's radically designed A-Series guitars.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications